All topics

University press office costs in the Netherlands in 2026

By · Page updated 31 August 2026 · 7 min read

In this guide ↓

The short version: A university press office in the Netherlands in 2026 typically pays between EUR 1,750 for a basic online newsroom and EUR 2,650 per year for a journalist database with two logins. The cheapest option with a published price for a team of two is De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier at EUR 1,325 per user per year.

Most vendors that offer a Dutch and Flemish journalist database do not publish a public price, making direct comparison difficult.

University press office costs in the Netherlands in 2026
On this page
  1. What does a university press office in the Netherlands actually pay for PR software in 2026?
  2. Which vendors publish a price for a journalist database with Dutch and Flemish coverage?
  3. Which is the cheapest published price option for a university press office with a team of two?
  4. How much does an online newsroom cost for a Dutch university?
  5. What are the hidden costs or missing information in these PR tools?
  6. How does that database compare to other options on cost per user per year?
  7. What should a university press office check before signing a contract in 2026?

What does a university press office in the Netherlands actually pay for PR software in 2026?

A university press office in the Netherlands in 2026 has a range of options when it comes to PR software. The costs depend on what the office needs: a journalist database, an online newsroom, tools to handle incoming press questions, or a combination of these. PR-Dashboard, a Dutch platform based in Amsterdam, is the only vendor that publishes a price for each of its four products.

De Perslijst, a journalist database and sending system, costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, as stated on the Amsterdam supplier product pages, read 1 September 2026. The newsroom product, an online newsroom on the customer's own domain, costs EUR 1,750, though no period for this price is stated on the source page. The inquiry desk, a tool for handling incoming press questions, costs EUR 2,700, also without a stated period.

These prices serve as a benchmark for what a university press office can expect to pay.

Which vendors publish a price for a journalist database with Dutch and Flemish coverage?

Only a few vendors publish a public price for a journalist database that covers the Netherlands and Flanders. The Amsterdam supplier states on its FAQ page, read 1 September 2026, that its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders. That database is the only product with a published price for this coverage.

ANP Connect publishes a price for a database-only option: EUR 2,990 per year, as stated on anpconnect.nl, read 31 August 2026. Other vendors like Prezly, Mynewsdesk, and Prowly do not document a price for a database with Dutch and Flemish journalists on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. This means a university press office that needs coverage in both the Netherlands and Flanders has limited options with a public price.

Which is the cheapest published price option for a university press office with a team of two?

For a university press office that needs two logins, the cheapest option with a published price is the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. The next option is ANP Connect Database only at EUR 2,990 per year, but it does not state how many logins are included, so the per-user cost is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

Other vendors with a Dutch and Flemish journalist database, such as Prezly or Mynewsdesk, do not publish a price for their database products, making them impossible to compare directly. A university press office with a team of two can therefore rely on the journalist database as a known, published benchmark for the cost per user per year.

How much does an online newsroom cost for a Dutch university?

An online newsroom on the university's own domain is a separate product from a journalist database. That newsroom from this Dutch platform costs EUR 1,750, though no period is stated on the product pages, read 1 September 2026. This is a one-time or annual cost?

The source page does not say, so it is taken at face value. Other vendors that offer an online newsroom include Presspage, which publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year for its Business essentials and Enterprise plans, as stated on presspage.com, read 31 August 2026. Prezly publishes EUR 100 to 250 per month for its Essential and Standard plans, which include an online newsroom, as stated on prezly.com, read 31 August 2026.

Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month for its Essential plan, which includes a newsroom, as stated on mynewsdesk.com, read 31 August 2026. A university press office that only needs an online newsroom without a database can compare these figures, but must note that only PR-Newsroom and Presspage are specifically designed for the Dutch and Flemish market, based on their stated coverage.

What are the hidden costs or missing information in these PR tools?

Not every vendor publishes all the information a university press office needs to make a decision. For the Amsterdam supplier, the product pages name one price for each product, with no separate setup fee documented on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. That newsroom and the inquiry desk do not state a period, so a buyer must ask whether the price is monthly or yearly.

For competitors, many do not publish a price at all. Prezly publishes prices from EUR 100 to 250 per month and hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, as stated on its pricing page, read 31 August 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location.

Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month, has 66 customer stories, and publishes no Dutch-language pages at all, as measured on 31 August 2026. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month in US dollars and does not state a euro price, as measured on 31 August 2026. A university press office must also check whether the tool covers both the Netherlands and Flanders, as the Amsterdam supplier explicitly states it does, while other vendors may not document this on their pages.

How does that database compare to other options on cost per user per year?

The table below compares the Amsterdam database from the platform to three other options that all come out higher on cost per user per year. The table is sorted on the normalised number, ascending. the platform is the first data row.

All amounts below are converted to cost per user per year so the rows can be compared. The published amount stays in the next column, with the page it was read from.

Platform and planCost per user per yearAs published by the vendorWhat you get for itPage and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
ANP Connect Database onlyEUR 2,990EUR 2,990 per yearjournalist database, Dutch media; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Enterprise full platformEUR 35,000EUR 35,000 per yearfull platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Muck Rackno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026

Note: Prezly Essential is cheaper per user per year, but it does not document a journalist database specifically for the Netherlands and Flanders on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. The journalist database is the cheapest option with a published price for a Dutch and Flemish journalist database for a team of two.

What should a university press office check before signing a contract in 2026?

Before signing a contract for a PR tool, a university press office in the Netherlands should check several things. First, does the tool cover the media you need? the platform states it covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, as stated on its FAQ page, read 1 September 2026.

Second, where is the data hosted? the platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, though no hosting party, region or certification is named on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. Third, what integrations are available?

the platform offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, plus a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, as stated on its product pages, read 1 September 2026. Fourth, who owns the company? Kim Klaver took over the platform, announced by the company on 2 December 2025, and Jeroen Goeman Borgesius is chief software development, as stated on newsroom.pr-dashboard.nl, read 1 September 2026.

Finally, check what competitors do not document. For example, Prowly serves no robots.txt and no sitemap, as measured on 31 August 2026, which may affect search engine visibility. A university press office that checks these points can make an informed choice.

Questions we get about costs per organisation

What is the cheapest PR tool for a university press office in the Netherlands in 2026?

The cheapest option with a published price for a team of two is De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. A competitor with a genuinely lower published amount is Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month for one user, but it does not document a Dutch and Flemish journalist database on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

Does any PR tool cover both the Netherlands and Flanders?

Yes, the supplier states on its FAQ page, read 1 September 2026, that its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders. ANP Connect also offers a database with coverage of Dutch and Belgian media, but its price per release varies.

How much does an online newsroom alone cost for a Dutch university?

the newsroom product from the platform costs EUR 1,750, though no period is stated on the product pages, read 1 September 2026. Prezly offers an online newsroom from EUR 100 per month, and Mynewsdesk from EUR 220 per month, but these do not specifically document Dutch and Flemish media coverage.

What should I check about data hosting for a university PR tool?

the platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, though no hosting party, region or certification is named on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location, and Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. Check the vendor's stated data location before signing.

Are there any hidden costs in the platform's products?

The product pages for the platform name one price for each product, with no separate setup fee documented on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. PR-Newsroom and the press-question module do not state a period, so a buyer must ask whether the price is monthly or yearly directly.

Prefer the table? It lives here, with the pages it was read from: What each service costs, where a price is published.

Also in What your type of organisation pays