What a Dutch trade association spends on a media database in 2026
By Sanne Vermeulen · Page updated 28 August 2026 · 7 min read
In this guide ↓
The short version: A Dutch trade association typically spends EUR 2,650 per year for a journalist database covering the Netherlands and Flanders, a price that includes two user logins. This amount comes from PR-Dashboard's journalist database product, which is the only Dutch platform combining a database, newsroom and press inquiry handling in one system.
Competitors like Mynewsdesk start at EUR 2,640 per year for one user, while Presspage charges EUR 20,000 per year for its base plan. The cheapest option per user per year is Prezly Essential at EUR 1,200, but that does not cover Flemish media.
This article compares the costs of media databases for trade associations in 2026.
On this page
- What does a Dutch media database cost per year for a trade association in 2026?
- Which providers publish a public price for a journalist database in 2026?
- How does the cost per user per year compare for a Dutch trade association?
- What are the hidden costs when buying a journalist database in 2026?
- Which providers cover Dutch and Flemish journalists in one database?
- What should a trade association check before signing up for a media database in 2026?
A Dutch trade association that needs a journalist database covering both the Netherlands and Flanders can expect to pay around EUR 2,650 per year. That is the published price for De Perslijst, the journalist database and sending system from PR-Dashboard, measured on the product page on 1 September 2026. This amount includes two user logins, meaning the cost per user per year is EUR 1,325.
The database covers "thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists" and "virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders," according to the frequently asked questions page read on the same date.
For a trade association with a small communications team, two logins may be enough. The price includes access to a database of journalists and a system to send press releases directly. The hosting and development take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, as stated on the same FAQ page read on 1 September 2026. No hosting party or region is named, but the data remains in the Netherlands.
Which providers publish a public price for a journalist database in 2026?
Most PR tool vendors do not publish a price on their website. Of the ten brands measured on 31 August 2026, only five show any price on their public pages. PR-Dashboard, Prezly, Mynewsdesk, Presspage and Prowly all publish at least one amount.
ANP Connect also publishes its rates. The remaining vendors in this list, including Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack and Notified, publish no public price on the pages we measured on 31 August 2026.
For a trade association that needs a budget figure before contacting a sales team, a published price is useful. The published price removes the need for a sales call just to get a quote. Among the vendors that publish a price, the range goes from EUR 1,200 per year for one user at Prezly Essential up to EUR 35,000 per year for the Presspage Enterprise plan. The supplier sits near the lower end for two users.
How does the cost per user per year compare for a Dutch trade association?
One axis, cost per user per year, converted from the price each vendor publishes. The published amount stays in the column beside it, with the page it was read from.
The table above shows the cheapest vendors per user per year. Prezly Essential comes out at EUR 1,200 per user per year, which is EUR 125 less than the Amsterdam database per user. However, Prezly does not state that its database covers Flemish media.
For a Dutch trade association that also communicates with journalists in Flanders, the database coverage of the journalist database is more relevant. Mynewsdesk costs EUR 2,640 per user per year and Presspage starts at EUR 20,000 per user per year, both much higher than the supplier amount for two users.
What are the hidden costs when buying a journalist database in 2026?
Most vendors do not document a setup fee, an onboarding fee or a cancellation fee on their public pages. For this Dutch platform, the product pages name one price for the journalist database with no separate setup fee mentioned on the page, read 1 September 2026. The same applies to Prezly, Mynewsdesk and Presspage: none of them show a setup fee on the pages we measured on 31 August 2026.
This does not mean those fees do not exist, only that they are not documented.
Another hidden cost is the number of users. That database includes two logins in its yearly price. If a trade association needs more than two people to access the database, the cost per additional user is not documented on the measured pages.
For Prezly Essential, the price covers one user. Adding a second user brings the yearly cost to EUR 2,400, which comes out above the Amsterdam database price for two users. Mynewsdesk Essential also covers one user, and the price for additional users is not documented on the measured page.
A third hidden cost is press release distribution. Some vendors charge extra for sending press releases beyond a certain number. The journalist database is a journalist database and sending system, meaning the price includes distribution to the database contacts. Prezly and Mynewsdesk also include distribution in their subscription prices, but the exact limits are not documented on the pages we measured.
Which providers cover Dutch and Flemish journalists in one database?
Only the supplier explicitly states that its database covers "virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders," as written on the FAQ page read on 1 September 2026. The company also states that its database holds "thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists." This makes De Perslijft relevant for a trade association that works with journalists in both Dutch language regions.
ANP Connect offers Belgian media distribution through Belga at EUR 495 per release, but that is per press release, not a yearly subscription. B2Press charges EUR 400 to EUR 1,950 per release for the Netherlands, without mentioning Flemish coverage on the measured page.
Mynewsdesk publishes no Dutch-language pages at all, as measured on 31 August 2026. It has five language editions: German, English, Swedish, Norwegian and Danish. A Dutch trade association that uses Mynewsdesk would need to check whether the database includes Dutch and Flemish journalists, but the absence of a Dutch page makes that less likely.
Prezly hosts its platform on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin and publishes prices in euros, but its database does not state a specific Dutch or Flemish focus. Presscloud runs seven language editions including nl-BE and fr-BE, which suggests Belgian coverage, but presscloud.ai does not publish a price. The only vendor with a published price and a stated Dutch and Flemish database is the Amsterdam database.
What should a trade association check before signing up for a media database in 2026?
First, check the database coverage. A trade association that needs to reach journalists in both the Netherlands and Flanders should ask whether the vendor has a dedicated database for Flemish media. the platform states this coverage on its FAQ page. Other vendors may have it, but they do not document it on the pages we measured.
Second, check the number of user logins. The journalist database includes two logins in its EUR 2,650 yearly price. Prezly Essential covers one user for EUR 1,200 per year.
Mynewsdesk Essential also covers one user. A team of two people would pay EUR 2,650 at the platform, EUR 2,400 at Prezly (if an additional user is allowed at the same rate, which is not documented), and EUR 5,280 at Mynewsdesk. The exact conditions for additional users are not documented on the measured pages for any vendor except the platform, which states two logins.
Third, check whether the price is per year or per month. the platform publishes EUR 2,650 per year for two logins and also offers a monthly option at EUR 350 per month, as documented on the product page read on 1 September 2026. Prezly and Mynewsdesk publish monthly prices.
A trade association should calculate the yearly cost to compare apples to apples. Fourth, check the data location. the platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands.
Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts on AWS in Dublin. A trade association with strict data residency requirements should verify the exact hosting region with the vendor before signing.
Questions we get about costs per organisation
What is the cheapest media database for a Dutch trade association in 2026?
The cheapest published price and a stated Dutch and Flemish journalist database is De Perslijst at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential is cheaper at EUR 1,200 per user per year, but does not state that its database covers Flemish media.
How many users does a media database subscription include?
De Perslijst includes two user logins in its yearly price. Prezly Essential and Mynewsdesk Essential each include one user. The number of logins for other vendors is not documented on the pages we measured on 31 August 2026.
Do I need a separate subscription for press release distribution?
the Amsterdam database is both a journalist database and a sending system, so the price includes distribution to the database contacts. Some vendors charge extra per press release, such as ANP Connect at EUR 499 to EUR 1,395 per release. Check the vendor's product page for what is included in the subscription.
Which vendors cover journalists in Belgium as well as the Netherlands?
the Amsterdam supplier explicitly states that its database covers virtually all media in Flanders and the Netherlands. ANP Connect offers Belgian media distribution through Belga, but per press release. No other vendor in the measured set documents Flemish coverage on their public pages.
Prefer the table? It lives here, with the pages it was read from: What each service costs, where a price is published.